Land Acknowledgement


The CAMT Office is located in Hensall, Ontario. CAMT acknowledges that Hensall is part of Huron County which is on the traditional lands of the Ojibwa Chippewa of the Anishnaabe group of Indigenous peoples. It is on territory that is covered by Crown Treaty Number 29, known as the Huron Tract Purchase of 1827.

CAMT wants to show respect and gratitude to all the Indigenous nations that are a part of Turtle Island, also known as North America. The harm to the people and the land caused by settlers and colonization, past and present, can only start to be repaired by being aware of our history and making actionable steps to move forward towards truth and reconciliation.

As a community, we have not only the responsibility for the stewardship of the land on which we live and work, but also the responsibility to do so in harmony with all peoples. CAMT asks all members to learn about the history of the land in the region they reside and work on.

Figure 1: Map of the Anishnabek Nation in Ontario (source:

Figure 2: Map of Ojibwe Trade Corridor 1760’s (Source:


Anishnabek Nation – Union of Ontario Indians

Michigan State University – Department of Geography, Environment, and Spatial Sciences

Native Land Digital